Follow

Summary: mom with Dementia and stroke dx. Needs help with ADLs, cannot live alone, wandering risk, fall risk, documented frequent flyer in the ER. Has a bona fide dementia dx and official work up from doctor on file. Makes a little over the Medi-cal limit. I can manipulate her income to make her under the limit to qualify via buying more supplemental health insurance policies. No assets at all. Cannot live with me as I have no room and I travel for a living.

Mom was at an independent living facility with caregivers I hired in during day. She was found wandering half naked at midnight.

She was picked up by EMS at midnight and driven to large local hospital. No shirt, one shoe, and checked in as Jane Doe.

I discovered her missing at 7am the next morning when she was due to go to adult day care. Filed missing person report. Finally found her as Jane Doe around 1400 that day. ER RN tells me to come pick her up. Nope, transfer her to The Worst HMO Ever.

TWHE calls and tells me pick her up. I tell TWHE, not happening, not safe to discharge. It was much more dramatic than that, actually. The social worker was a real work and tried to mislead me but every day TWHE sends her to a memory care facility and has been paying for it for an entire year since there are no Medicare open beds available in a locked facility. She has to go to locked facility because she's a known wanderer now. Smh. She still tries to leave facility she is in now regularly.

Facility calls me and says they think TWHE is going to end my mom’s stay there at the end of this month. I don't know what my next step should be. Nothing has changed except my mom now has a tiny bit of savings. Her money is an account and the majority of it has gone to paying for her major dental work, i.e. implants and dentures. The money that remains after that large and in charge dental bill would cover two months max in her memory care facility and about the same amount of in home care.