Follow

My mind is fine, but I am physically limited - I fall a LOT and break bones because I have osteoporosis. I was a university professor and an administrator for a $24 million dollar grant for HIV care to indigent patients. I am afraid to live alone any longer because of the falling. I need someone to come in a couple of times a week. I live in the Florida Keys,

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
Find Care & Housing
My mother improved greatly with home health. This includes physical and occupational therapy.

They also send an aide to help with bathing if needed. An RN will come to take your medical history and make certain recommendations. She will document everything in a file for you.

It’s covered by your insurance. Ask your doctor to order home health. Best wishes to you.

You could also visit assisted living facilities in your area.
(1)

Age is only as old as you feel they say.

My feet are so cold today they are stone aged! Boom boom 😁 (Call me corny!)

Well I suppose I'd recommend having a good think about what you need & what you enjoy. Then does your current home provide this? Can home care provide the extra support you need?

You could trial having someone come in? For strenuous tasks or higher falls risk activities (eg laundry, showering, shopping).

Also consider an OT for any grab rails, assistive furniture or devices if you think that would help too.

If after your trial you still feel unsafe or your needs not met, start looking at plan B. Finding a nice village type location with add-on options.

I love living where I am, but I need to downsize. My future aim is to continue to be independant in my space. If that means swapping the garden for a patio, dinning room for a small table nook, so be it. I've watched some practical minded relatives do it. They know they can be happy with the right attitude inside a different set of walls.
(0)