Follow

I am sick worrying about my 90 year old father in a hospital with no visitation. He had a small bowel obstruction which they operated on last Monday. He is in SICU, and is confused a lot of the time. It really doesn't help that the family can't be in front of him. He is doing (mostly) ok otherwise....but my nephew called and asked the nurse to give him the phone. He couldn't really make any sense of what he was saying. He is not like this at home. He is frail and gets around the house with a walker. But he is very with it and he can take care of his daily things and make breakfast, read the paper. He watches tv a lot. My brother lives with him and is there in the evening and night. Any time he's been in the hospital, he gets confused, which I understand that. But now we can't even evaluate how he's doing ourselves, so I am very worried. The nurses don't know how is is at home. I am a retired cardiovascular tech, so I know how it can be, but I hate that I can't do anything!!
Sorry, just had to vent. This is so hard.

This discussion has been closed for comment. Start a New Discussion.
"AlvaDeer,"

I gave my husband your "thanks" - he loved the book when he read it about 30 years ago, it is written like a novel/story but, packed a punch!

Would love to know what you think of it - whether good or bad.
(2)

NobodyGetsIt, all prayers are very gratefully accepted. "Thank Hubby for recommend and tell him I am getting it!
(1)

Dear "AlvaDeer,"

My husband suggests you might really enjoy reading "The Screwtape Letters" by C.S. Lewis.

I always keep you in my prayers :)
(0)