Follow

My wife and I have been caring for my father for the last six years. He is now 100+ and asked that he would like to age in place in the home he built. We agreed to help as it suited my wife and I best at the time. The kids had all moved out and we had planned to sell our house to downsize. I have five siblings. Four live hundreds of miles away and I have one brother a mile away who does nothing to help. Two years ago my father came to my wife and I and said he wanted to give us his home for everything we do for him. We told him that was too much and the conversation stopped for a few months. He then came back and said "I want to sell you my home for $100,000 and then your brothers and sisters will each get $20,000 when I pass and the home will be yours". I thought that was fair, given that my wife is his caretaker 24/7 and can't work. He changed his will and as soon as he did, two of my brothers and two of my sisters started to call him, yelling at him, telling him how unfair that is. My oldest brother is the only one who said we deserve it and took our side. I explained to my siblings that if we hadn't stepped in, dad would have had to sell the house and move into a home. That money would be gone by now. The best outcome for them would have been for dad to hand his home over to the Mason's and they would own the house once dad passed. They didn't see it that way. Instead, my one brother dropped off what I call a 'ransom letter' stating they wouldn't accept anything less than $40,000 each, which meant they expected us to purchase the home for $200,000. Things got bad for a few weeks where they would plan staged attacks where one would call after another, yelling at my father and asking if he had changed the will yet. My father couldn't sleep, was getting headaches and feeling terrible. After two weeks he told me to "shut them up and give them what they want", so we had the will amended. I want to know if anyone else has had this happen. I no longer talk to t